Textsize:  A-  A   A+
Accessibility version

The Town Hall

York Street


North Yorkshire


01757 708449




This year's competition was difficult to judge by the Mayor as there were so many lovely windows throughout town.

1st Place - Lisa's Florist, The Crescent who won a £100 gift voucher donated by Farm Foods

2nd Place - NFU Mutual, Finkle Street who won £50 donated by the Town Council

3rd Place - Abbey Cafe, Micklegate who won a £40 gift voucher donated by Wetherells Department Store

4th Place - Million Hairs, Gowthorpe who won a £30 gift voucher donated by Heaven and Home.

The town council thanks all this years sponsors of this event.

Photographs of all the entries are on the Whats On page of our website.


Selby Town Council is the local authority for the town of Selby and is committed to working with partners and residents to make Selby a vibrant market town.

The Town Council have 12 staff including office, grounds maintenance and caretaking/cleaning staff.  The  Town Council office is based at the Town Hall on the junction of Gowthorpe, Brook Street and Leeds Road. Office opening hours are 10.00 am to 4.00 pm Monday to Friday.  There are parking spaces available at the Town Hall.

The Town Council are responsible for the Town Hall, Selby Cemetery, 3 allotments, 3 play areas, Longmann Hills Farmhouse and Selby Market.  The Town Council also manage the Community Centre on Scott Road and the Community Woodland on Bondgate. Selby In Bloom Competition is held annually and entry forms are available from the Allotment Page on our website.

Selby Town Councillors are also members of the Community Engagement Forum (CEF) and the Chair of the Central CEF is the Mayor, Cllr Steve Shaw-Wright.  Town Councillors are members of the CEF Partnership Board. Central CEF meet quarterly and engage with the community, other partner organisations and local businesses. 

If you cannot find the information you require on our website please let us know by emailing admin@selbytowncouncil.co.uk or ring 01757 708449 during office hours.

NYCC Highways give the town council updates. There latest updates can be found on the useful links page.